Logo du Chateau Blaignan

Chateau Blaignan CRU BOURGEOIS DEPUIS 1932

History :

Château Blaignan is a fine estate of 97 hectares (240 acres) in the northern part of the Médoc. There have been vineyards here since the 14th century.

There was nothing left of the ancient fortress (seat of the Lords of Blaignan in the Middle-Ages, which gave its name both to the land and to the noble family who owned the manor), except for a few ruins next to the church in the old village of Blaignan.

Pierre Merman, a protestant from a Dutch family that settled in Bordeaux in the 17th century, acquired the estate just after the Revolution. His family and, more particularly, his daughter, Jeanne Marie Reine Peychaud, assisted by her husband Charles, turned “Taffard-Blaignan” into a model estate. They extended the property considerably, repaired the buildings and built a country mansion of the type known locally as a “chartreuse”.

The wine reached the envied rank of Cru Bourgeois in 1932, under the name “Château Taffard de Blaignan”.

In 2004, CA Grands Crus, a subsidiary of the Groupe Crédit Agricole, acquired Château Blaignan. An improvement plan was put together for the entire estate. It is supervised today by Anne Le Naour, Executive Director, and the consultant oenologist, Hubert de BOÜARD, also owner of Château Angélus.

The company CA Grands Crus, a fully-owned subsidiary of the Groupe Crédit Agricole, became, in 2004, the owner of prestigious Bordeaux estates: Grand-Puy Ducasse, 5ème Grand Cru Classé Pauillac, Château Meyney, Saint-Estèphe, Château Blaignan, Cru Bourgeois Médoc and Clos Saint-Vincent, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru.

Vineyard :

The limestone-clay soil lies on a calcareous limestone base, whose sedimentation dates back to the quaternary period. The high potential of the site is reflected in 2 limestone mounds that offer different sunshine exposure and drainage possibilities. The vines are an average of 25 years old, and are divided between 60% Cabernet Sauvignon, 40% Merlot. Average yields are 45 hectolitres per hectare.

Environment :

Château Blaignan is accredited “Agriculture Raisonnée” and have adopted eco-friendly vine-growing methods. Château BLAIGNAN is involved in an environmental approach and has acquired the level 3 of the HEV Norm (High Environmental Value) in June 2017. The HEV Norm is a voluntary approach which aims to certify agricultural properties on their environmental performances. It comes from the Grenelle Environment Forum. This is a recognized approach which is supported by the Government.

Logo Haute Valeur Environnementale de niveau 3
Chai n°9
Bouteille de Blaignan Médoc

Harvesting and wine making :

During the harvest, the new machines, equipped with a grape selection gear, allow to select only the best grapes. The demand for quality is also illustrated by the lowering of the average yields and of the plots yields. The new winery was ready for the 2010 harvest and allows tank temperatures, for fermentation and maceration, to be precisely controlled. It is also equipped for cold-soaking prior to fermentation. Post-fermentary maceration lasts for between 21 and 30 days according to the nature of the harvest. The wine’s progress is checked by regular tastings, with temperatures held between 28°C and 30°C. The wine will then age for 14 months.

Logo du Chateau Blaignan

Chateau Blaignan CRU BOURGEOIS DEPUIS 1932

Histoire :

Château Blaignan est un beau domaine de 97 hectares situé dans le nord du Médoc, la présence de la vigne y est attestée dès le XIVème siècle.

De la très ancienne forteresse, fief des seigneurs de Blaignan au Moyen âge, qui donna son nom à la fois à la terre et à la famille noble titulaire de la Seigneurie, il ne subsistait rien, sinon quelques ruines jouxtant l'église et l'ancien village de Blaignan.

Pierre Merman, protestant, issu d’une famille d’origine hollandaise installée à Bordeaux depuis le XVIIème siècle, acheta le domaine juste après la Révolution. Sa famille, particulièrement sa fille, Jeanne Marie Reine Peychaud, aidée de son époux
Charles, fit de “Taffard-Blaignan” une propriété modèle. Ils augmentèrent considérablement les surfaces de terre, réparèrent les bâtiments et édifièrent une maison de maître qualifiée de “chartreuse”.

Le Château Blaignan accède à la notoriété en 1932 en devenant un Cru Bourgeois réputé.

Depuis 2004, Château Blaignan compte parmi les propriétés rachetées par CA Grands Crus, filiale du Groupe Crédit Agricole. Le plan d'optimisation de l'ensemble du vignoble initié lors du rachat du Château est aujourd'hui mené à bien par Anne Le Naour, Directrice Exécutive des domaines du groupe, assistée des conseils de l'œnologue Hubert de BOÜARD, également propriétaire du Château Angélus.

La société CA Grands Crus, détenue par le Crédit Agricole, est propriétaire depuis 2004 de châteaux de prestige dans le bordelais dont le Château Grand-Puy Ducasse, 5ème Grand Cru Classé de Pauillac, le Château Meyney, Saint-Estèphe, le Château Blaignan, Cru Bourgeois du Médoc et Clos Saint-Vincent, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru.

Nos vignes :

Le terroir argilo-calcaire repose sur un sous-sol calcaire, dont la sédimentation remonte à l'ère quaternaire. Le haut potentiel viticole du domaine repose essentiellement sur deux buttes calcaires qui offrent des situations variées d’exposition et de pentes. Les vignes, âgées en moyenne de 25 ans, sont constituées de 60% de Cabernet Sauvignon, 40%, pour un rendement moyen de 45 hectolitres par hectares.

nos demarches environnementales :

Titulaire du certificat « Agriculture raisonnée », Château Blaignan a choisi d’adopter des pratiques culturales respectueuses de l’environnement. Le Château BLAIGNAN est engagé dans une démarche environnementale et a obtenu le niveau 3 du label HVE (Haute Valeur Environnementale) en juin 2017. La norme HVE III, est une démarche volontaire qui vise à certifier les exploitations agricoles sur leurs performances environnementales. Elle est issue du Grenelle de l’Environnement. C’est une démarche reconnue et portée par les pouvoirs publics.

Logo Haute Valeur Environnementale de niveau 3
Chai n°9
Bouteille de Blaignan Médoc

Vendange et Vinification :

Lors des vendanges, les nouvelles machines dotées de tri embarqué de récolte permettent à présent de perfectionner la sélection des meilleurs raisins. L’exigence qualitative est aussi incarnée par la baisse des rendements moyens et parcellaires. Le nouveau chai de vinification, réceptionné avant la vendange 2010, permet désormais une parfaite maîtrise des températures de macération et de fermentation de même que la réalisation de macérations pré-fermentaires à froid. Les macérations durent 21 à 30 jours en fonction de la dégustation et les températures post-fermentaires sont maintenues entre 28 et 30°C en fonction des besoins. L’élevage dure 14 mois.